Home > Uncategorized > Conclusion of an Epic Journey

Conclusion of an Epic Journey

So today I would like to wrap up what was pretty much the focus of my posts for the past… six weeks? A couple months back I started my project with a friend aiming to design classes to fill the four arch-types for armies that could possibly be added into Warhammer Online. I hope that I have given my readers food for thought and perhaps caught the eye of a developer whose brain has run dry. Thanks to feedback from you guys, certain issues were raised with abilities/tactics/morales/mechanics and I promptly tried to address them.

When I started the process my first thought was ‘well no race’s mechanics are exactly mirrored in another race’ and with that I set up the minimum for at least two pairings for any expansion. Although I know many of my readers longed for a third realm composed of Skaven and their minions, I have given up hope that Mythic has the resources to restructure the game in its current state to fit in the mechanic of a 3rd realm, but they are welcome to surprise me! Smashing the six armies I presented in the existing alliances did pose several lore-problems such as neutrality and in-fighting and I tried to address those issues in the preludes, which I put much thought and time into and I sincerely hope they were both informative and a fun read.

I hoped to present twelve mechanics which were fresh and new although encompassing some aspects of existing mechanics. Whether I succeeded or failed is up to the reader, although I will admit that in some cases I presented an archtype of an existing class in a new light – how I think it should have been. Many people have different ideas in regards to which class would better fit that archtype and it may be easy for them to simply say ‘I want a Rat Ogre for my Skaven tank’ I think I presented compelling arguments for my classes in both their mechanics and abilities.I intentionally did not put damage/heal values because for me what was important was what the abilities does to show the role of the class, any display of numbers would be pointless in my mind because every tool-tip is modified by level and mastery points and of course subject to balance.

I concluded each pairing with a map of where I would locate the different tiers to familiarize my readers with the geography of Warhammer and to show that a campaign can be designed in a more linear and reasonable fashion. I also went as far as locating exotic locations in the lore for dungeons and a tier 5 for that pairing. I have received some requests in regards to my views on how I would design one of these dungeons and for that I shall have to ponder. It is my sincere hope that I have provided you, my readers, with some entertaining material and that someone at Mythic has caught sight of my work and is saying ‘hey that’s doable and makes sense…’

My only regret is that I do not have more artistic and computer talent to take this up a notch, to go further. I had hoped to make tool-tips as one can see on WARDB.com because I figured pretty visuals would help people envision the class as I see it, but alas that is for another. I shall continue to take in feedback and readjust classes as people bring issues to light but other than that I solemnly close the chapter of Eka’s Expansions for the Wood Elf v Beastmen, Lizardmen v Skaven, and Bretonnians v Vampire Counts campaigns.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 22, 2010 at 1:08 PM

    What a disturbingly detailed journey it’s been. A pleasure as always! We could only hope that one day Mythic would be able to pool resources and give this game a proper expansion. Your series has reinvigorated the imaginations of many I would imagine.

  2. ulfast
    September 22, 2010 at 11:18 PM

    I can only agree with Grimnir. It has been a joy to read all this and I think your ideas are great. It´s only for Mythic to copy and paste. Great work. Looking forward to read more from you 🙂

  3. September 23, 2010 at 12:17 AM

    If’s been a amazing series of posts and a great introduction for me to your site! I’d love to see some of these ideas become a reality and the amount of detail and effort that you’ve put into your posts are staggering!

  4. September 23, 2010 at 6:51 AM

    Awesome reading! Amazing detail! And obviously a lot of caring for WAR. What will you write about next?

    • September 23, 2010 at 10:56 AM

      Originally I wanted to add a 4th pairing of Kislev v Chaos Dwarves (mainly b/c I’m a huge Kislev fan and Chaos Dwarves look pretty funny) but someone told me I was crazy >.> <.< so I scraped that idea.

      I've thought about the possibility of working on either A)a fifth class for existing races, unfortunately it would be a repeat of an existing archtype so I'm not huge on it; B)Trying to flesh out a working concept of mercenaries which would fight for both factions (more or less Ogres); or C)I've received some interest in pondering up the dungeon's layout for the dungeons I proposed in my 3 campaigns. Of course suggestions and requests always help =P

      In all honesty pondering up this kind of stuff takes a while so in between now and whenever I start my next project I wanted to do some analysis of existing material (i.e. PvE – you can boo-hiss if you want)

  5. September 24, 2010 at 9:44 AM

    It’s certainly been an entertaining series and I was surprised to see you go in such detail. Mainly because it’s really hard to balance everything you outlined on paper only. But you did a great job, nay a monumental job. I hope something good for WAR comes out of it.

    Keep at it. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

