Home > Armor Sets > 1.4 Art – Order Doomflayer

1.4 Art – Order Doomflayer

Oh boy… gee willy willikers… oshbegosh… I don’t even know where to begin with this. Whoever designed the art for the two new sets introduced in 1.4 should probably never work in North Korea because I’m pretty sure they’d be executed. Sure some look awesome, some are ok, but some are just God-awful. I’ll start with the Order Doomflayer sets and save the true horrors of Warpforged for later, but before I begin – Mythic has set the date for the 1.4 launch for Thursday Nov 18th so I doubt anything will change at this point.

Before I begin I will give an overarching comment for all the weapons. I am unsure of how the RR85 weapons look, but the glow on the RR95 weapons is hideous on Order toons. I am really really really praying there is an alternative to turn this green glowing shit off. For some classes the red auras look ok, but the green looks horribad on every Order toon. On Destro the green can pass for the greenskins and chaos, but for the Dark Elves it again is bad. One thing I did notice is the green weapons are the ‘offensive’ weapons and red are ‘defensive’, at least a simple rule of thumb to keep for now. I may be wrong as I didn’t explore this horrid colored aura much. Please Mythic, for the love of all that is holy, give us an option to turn off these horrible auras on the weapons. Or at least make Order’s aura’s blue and red and give the Dark Elves maybe purple.

Anyway onto the screenies and the commentary…

Swordmaster
All in all this set looks fine, I don’t know whats up with the lighting on the PTS but some areas seemed to bright, particularly the helm. I chose the female here because on the male model the center flap on the skirt isn’t visable.

Archmage
Again this set isn’t bad at all. The helm is a little weird, but honestly when aren’t they…

White Lion
The paw for the shoulder is a little weird and the set looks a little plain, almost like its out of tier 3.

Shadow Warrior
As one with at SW main this one strikes a chord with me. The boots, gloves, and shoulders are fine. The chest is pretty awesome looking, and the little baggie on the side humors me. But the helm. Dear lord why oh why would you do that??? That has got to be the ugliest hood ever and when I see it the first thing that comes to mind is the Cantina musicians from Star Wars… I love everything but the hood =(

Knight of the Blazing Sun
I’m not to keen on the helm for this set, it lacks the opulence of other KotBS helms (perhaps that’s a good thing) but in my opinion the set is a much welcome toning down of the splatter of gold every other KotBS set gets. I am curious as to what areas are dye-able though…

Warrior Priest
This set like the KotBS set makes me believe that Mythic was aiming for a more metallic appearance for the Empire. I have no qualms with the set though again, dye-able area makes many sets more appealing and this set looks like it has a lot of undye-able gray.

Witch Hunter
Holy Bat Sticks, Batman! You’re not gonna catch a witch wearing pink boots and gloves, no sir! And a blue chest piece to match? Why it looks like someone threw up tropical skittles on this poor creature! And the hat! Ahhh! Whats with the little water-catching-ridge on the back? Goofy look…

Bright Wizard
I’m really trying hard to see whats different in this set from all the other BW sets… a smaller cage around their heads?

Ironbreaker
Gah! The helm! The rest of the set looks remarkably a lot like… every other IB set except with less intricate carvings…

Rune Priest
This looks remarkably a lot like the lower tier sets… I don’t think it could get any more bland

Slayer
Nice pants and flip flops matey

Engineer
Ok, I have to admit it, I actually guffawed when I saw this. All that goes through my head when I see this is the theme to “Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles”. Maybe if he wasn’t a round dwarf he wouldn’t look so weird, but man all I think of is a turtle…

Categories: Armor Sets Tags:
  1. Krosuss
    November 13, 2010 at 3:06 PM

    The Bright Wizard sets are different than previous and I’m okay with them. I still feel their Sov set is the best.

    • November 13, 2010 at 3:47 PM

      Yeah but they’re all so similar. Most of the differences are in the flame design of the skirt, or its length.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

