Home > Uncategorized > How Tough Are You?

How Tough Are You?

Apparently not tough enough. Today I wanted to briefly discuss the stat ‘Toughness’ and hope that Mythic gives is a look. In eons past when the best armor people could reliably acquire was Anni/Dark Promise and the best weapons were T4 influence weapons or Lost Vale weapons, the dps was far lower and the TTK higher. In this mythical bygone time when damage was lower, it was far more beneficial to slot toughness because it actually had an impact. Today with weapons having a dps of 100+ and classes dealing burst damage in the thousands, I am of the belief that toughness is obsolete. At 1000 toughness you only have a 200 dps reduction. Now when a sorc or bw critically hits your for 2.4k, you wonder what the use of 200 mitigation is… I believe there is none. The only classes which fully benefit from toughness are tanks which already have a very high armor rate, thus reducing their damage to already low numbers. Naturally resistance attacks (spirit, elem, corp) will still deal high damage to tanks, but classes with physical burst will be weakened. Classes with medium armor can get some utility from toughness, but good group coordination can easily bypass their defenses.

So in the end against what classes is toughness the most effective? The answer is sadly against the classes/specs which have always been voted amongst the weakest. These would be dot spec and physical damage classes – and if you’re a physical damage dot spec class well then you truly get the shaft.

In my opinion toughness should be a saving grace for lightly armored classes. They get low armor, so their toughness should compensate. However, because toughness is so useless against high burst classes, overall it isn’t a stat worth much in the end. I sincerely hope Mythic re-evaluates toughness and perhaps changes it to a % of dps dealt, rather than a flat out rate, because honestly, when someone hits you for 2.4k, what good is -84.6 dps mitigation going to do you? I welcome anyone with differing opinions to speak their mind, as I have said I am not a firm believer of toughness unless it goes on tanks.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 29, 2010 at 3:02 AM

    god yes as a WH Toughness is a waste of points i focus on crit hit, WS, str, in any large scale engagements i stay as far away from the center as possible and attack the stragglers or those that stray from the pack

  2. November 29, 2010 at 3:11 AM

    Couldn’t agree more.

    I usually run a rage build on my choppa, having it maxed at all times. Since that cuts my armor by a lot I thought I’d compensate with toughness. But, what killed me before was still killing me, and with about the same ttk. There just wasn’t enough toughness I could stack to make it worth my while.

    I found that wounds actually worked the best for me. It’s easier for me to stack enough wounds to have 1 or 2K more hp, and that gives my zelly enough “space” to better keep me alive.

  3. Optimus Prime
    November 29, 2010 at 7:56 AM

    My toughness is 81. That’s with Sov/ warlord. I would love to add some toughness but under the current setup it utterly useless.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

