Home > Uncategorized > Readjustments

Readjustments

Completely random thought today which raised an interesting scenario… what if Mythic reduced the size of a party to 5 players? I started pondering the implications of this, mainly the restructuring of the standard 2,2,2 group. I think it would be a pretty interesting experience for Mythic to throw into our works. If I was to implement this system naturally it would require restructuring of parties and warbands. I’d up the scenario population to 15 players (three parties) and warbands to 25 players (no great change).

I just find that six mans can so easily be shaped by the two tanks guarding the two melee dps while the two healers sit in the back focus healing their specific melee dps and occasionally the tank that is guarding said melee dps OR the two tanks guarding the two melee DoKs steamrolling with their melee choo-choo. Now I hardly ever run a 2,2,2 group but consider it for a moment: if you could only take 5 (which no doubt on many occasions you have and relied on a wild card to suit the needs of your group), which archtype would you cut out/how would you set up your group?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Tsukasu
    December 3, 2010 at 3:28 AM

    I would cut one tank out of the equation, if said group was running a melee choo choo it would not make a whole lot of diff but if they were running a “normal” group in would only mean the healers need to work a little harder or that if you had an rdps he/she wouldnt get guard.

  2. Genis
    December 3, 2010 at 8:48 AM

    The temptation to cut out a tank is strong, but then how often would a Swordmaster be chosen as for the only tank role? If you have to pick only one, the KotBS or IB will clearly win out, probably in that order. Healers and MDPS would probably be fine, every one being roughly as good as the others if you can only have one. RDPS would see a drop in SWs and Engies I think.

    Though I think if there was a 5th archetype, a 5 person group would work better. In the long run, it would just be a paradigm shift that we’d have to adjust to. From here I’m not sure what the long-term effects would be.

    • December 3, 2010 at 9:47 AM

      A fifth archtype would certainly be interesting but I have trouble pondering up what it would be, what role it would fulfill. Often times when I bring up the proposition to others the replies are ‘a stealth class’ which is what the WH/WE is so I don’t see how that would be any different.

  3. December 3, 2010 at 10:22 AM

    We generally have 7 online so could I change my set up to 7? If not then I drop a tank. One tank can float gaurd well enough.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

