Home > Uncategorized > Reward Team Play

Reward Team Play

Now I know anyone who is a healer is going to read this post and call me a ‘big caca face liar who has no idea how hard life is’ but today I choose to briefly raise attention to the parasitic problem known as out-of-party-healing. While this problem has always existed in WAR, it certainly was at a lull the last couple months. As players hit rr80 they finally stopped healing out of party and becoming team players, but now with the renown cap raised to rr100 the habit has crept back in.

It always gets under my skin when I walk out of a scenario with 2k renown and I see Hans the RP walk out with 8k, when I know he is of equal renown rank. I fail to understand why Mythic rewards selfish play in a game that is focused around team-play. I find it mind boggling when warrior priests choose to heal out of party, because in that situation its a lose-lose. While I am sure every healer who does or has done this has their own justifications, I find it unfair that this archtype can leech purple numbers by being selfish while the rest of the team suffers. I don’t want to have to wait until all the healers hit rr100 (which I have no doubt they will be among the first cohorts) for them to start healing in party.

And because I know someone will think/mention this – this isn’t an issue of solo/pre-made queuing. Due to the lack of healers on Order for my server, even when I queue with a premade with two healers, one generally has to go to the other party because the other party doesn’t have one or theirs is dps or the healer that could be in their party is out of party healing.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. December 4, 2010 at 10:46 PM

    I have always felt the same way and have left feedback on several occasions. I took advantage of it on my Runie while shooting for 80 because I would have been stupid for not doing it but it is truely a horid game design. I udnerstand that they wanted to give an incentive to heal other people but I think it was a poor implementation. They should change healing renown so it splits evenly amoung party members. Right now, if I use a flash heal in a full aprty everyone gets 2 renown (12 total) but if I use it out of party I get 40. Math is gud.

  2. December 5, 2010 at 7:25 AM

    Just be glad they are still healing, and not dps spec. I played dps with my archmage just to piss people off, and it would get so many players heated.

  3. December 6, 2010 at 5:09 AM

    Unfortunately, as a healer, I cannot agree with you at all. I run a WP and while I will attend to my party first (especially as a WP I’m built for that), not healing others leads to even LESS renown gathered by my side as a total. I have to look at my party and group heal them, avoid enemy targets, detaunt them if needed…add a little DPS to assist healing…AND I have to help the ENTIRE team stay up to ensure we don’t get wiped.

    In your example you got 2K renown…now imagine that the other half of your scenario keeps getting ROFLStomped which allows the rest of Destro to consentrate on you! Do you think you will even get the amount of renown that you got?

    Keeping EVERYONE up helps everyone, and if healers get a bit of extra renown for multitasking (at least good ones) then its a reward well deserved.

    • December 6, 2010 at 9:50 AM

      I am talking about out-of-party healing, which is completely different from what you said you do. If you are in a party and healing yours and cross healing another party then you are a blessing, but when a healer leaves all parties and leeches renown, a different story.

  4. Dilek
    December 6, 2010 at 9:46 AM

    I think outside of a small handful of times when I got stuck in an sc with a bunch of people who harassed me for not rezzing more/healing more under difficult circumstances where they weren’t, you know, guarding moar or peeling dps moar, I have always in party healed. I can’t stand to go out of party because many of the things I do have no utility outside of party. Of course, I was also one of the slowest renown earning healers so… yeah. I would definitely like to see the implementation improved such that sticking with a party to heal makes sense to those who really want to grind out the rr as fast as possible.

    Of course, I also remember the early days when healers could not get a break for renown. There seems to be no middle ground with Mythic but we can hope.

  5. December 6, 2010 at 10:51 PM

    People who join scenarios and leave the scenario party to solo (no matter the class, BUT ESPECIALLY WPs), should be hanged by the balls on the doorknob of the enemy city, period.

    If you want to leech, go leech in ORvR. That’s one place you won’t be able to succeed in without a group. Scenarios are a team vs team battle. If you like entering instanced PvP where you can go off and do your own thing try WoW.

    Sorry, I hate them aswell. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

