Home > Uncategorized > Smart Tab

Smart Tab

Time for a confession which will no doubt discredit me in the eyes of many – I tab target.  I know, its a horrible thing to do. Actually, I tab target in huge melee messes where I cant click on someone, but if I see a lone target standing out I select him and let him know I’ve befriended him. Anyway the point of the post is that tab targeting kind of blows (hence why lots probably don’t do it). Now I don’t know if this is at all possible, but I’d like to request a Smart Tab system (either implemented directly into the game, or a mod). If anything, I’d die for a system which you can filter stuff out. Maybe, just maybe, I’m tired of targeting squigs and flamers… Targeting nearest doesn’t always work because sometimes you can’t shake a black orc even though hes hitting you for 45 damage, so I bring to the wish list of Hypothetical War the Smart Tab system.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. January 17, 2011 at 1:13 AM

    Wait… tab targeting is a bad thing?

    Boy, am I in some deep doo doo if that be the case.

    I like your smart tab suggestion.

  2. Max
    January 17, 2011 at 8:48 AM

    I feel like it’s the defaults that are the worst. I change my tab to nearest target, and the ~ to next enemy, so it’s easy to cycle past any pets or pesky tanks. It’s not ideal, but better than clicking through a zerg. I really like the smart tab idea though, even if it was just a few more options on defining what an ‘enemy’ is.

  3. January 17, 2011 at 1:51 PM

    Like max, I set my tilde (~) key to cycle next enemy. It’s a much better option than tab-targeting. Also – the only real drawback to target next enemy is that it doesn’t reach anything outside of 60′ or so. A huge hinderance to range classes, especially wheny trying to pick a target in a mass huddle of melee from way-far out. Tab-targeting and click-targeting both have their uses in WAR, neither one is really superior to the other.

  4. January 17, 2011 at 1:56 PM

    It depends on your combat style – as RDPS ‘target nearest’ isn’t quite as useful since most of the time I want to take out the healers in the back. I don’t really mind tab-targeting but my biggest peeve is all the stupid pets it keeps cycling through.

  5. Schmoptimus Prime
    January 20, 2011 at 11:21 AM

    How about being able to tab target off a door at a keep? I use nearest mostly as a melee dos but I’m forced to constantly cycle through all the rubbish pets and crap too. Disadvantaged against squiggies due to that precious time tabbing from pet to SH.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

