Home > Uncategorized > 1.4.1 Reactions

1.4.1 Reactions

Well yesterday 1.4.1 launched and my poor SW was tossed head first into the blender of the tiny SCs. My experiences thus far have proven rather unsatisfactory, but such is the life of a SW. Already today we’ve had three bits of info hitting the news reels – James Nicholas leaving for Rift which I shrug at; SC Feedback thread by James Casey which I give thumbs up to – at least J.C. is communicating with the community and trying to process our desires, or so it seams; and lastly the February Producer’s Letter.

In terms of communication I’d say Mythic is improving, but I still have my concerns considering this patch was released at the launch of Rift and in my eyes would be the patch to compete with Rift, yet all we got was a few tweeks here and there, nothing new. The accelerated renown bonus this week which will no doubt launch more people into Doomflayer is most likely intended to quell the cries of people saying those sets are OP because I’m sure once players get those sets and are OP themselves, they will not complain about them. For this reason the renown bonus is troubling – it seems to be sidestepping the issue of the DF/WF renown sets.

The February Producer’s letter is a mixed bag. I do not want to revisit Grovod Caverns, the scenario was never anything but a spawn-camp fest, and I most of all do not want to see Mythic put the square peg in the circle hole by introducing a Skaven theme which can potentially lead to Order playing Skaven more. And then James mentions the Ironclad… great another SC where healers can heal through walls and melee trains bulldoze tight corridors. And here I thought Mourkain Temple and Gates of Ekrund were enough. The mention of a new live event is interesting, but it all depends on what it does and what it ushers in. If its just a quest and a ‘kill 50 enemies of chaos’ and ‘/smile at every career’ to win a 60-day event item.. this wont sell anyone. If this live event doesn’t usher anything new in then it will be horribly received. And of course a picture of more useless vanity pets which are once again… destruction friendly. Almost every armor set in the game is Destruction themed… then they gave us the snotlings as pets… now more gobbos… No one wants new useless pets. We want actual new content.

I’m still a casual player, I’m barely reaching the mid 80s and by the time I get DF others will get WF – the divide will still exist. Considering Mythic takes months to patch, and sometimes longer to reverse errors (if at all), I do not foresee them fixing the defensive DF/WF sets before it is too late. Morale among casual players is plummeting. You can give us a renown bonus for what its worth – but when we’re zerged in the RvR lakes and stomped in SCs by Rr90+s the end result is a further growing divide. I don’t know how much heart I’ve got left for WAR, I’ve been playing a SW since 2008 and the class has been side-lined into oblivion. Getting stomped in the RvR lakes and SCs is one thing, but to feel that the developers are doing nothing to address the glaring disparities in the game is another.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Aeo
    March 3, 2011 at 3:01 AM

    Has not the divide always existed?

    When the first person in my guild got full Invader (around spring 2009) I was still in Annia and working on Conq I was playing very hard at the time, 3-4 hours every night, but could not keep up with the all-dayers.

    I am a causal player, only RR69, maybe 5-10hr a week if I am lucky. My morale has not plummted. What are you basing this on? What is your defintion of a casual player? 1.4.1 has been a huge plus for low rank players.

  2. March 3, 2011 at 4:21 AM

    I’d like to say, the double RP is welcome and the new Worn armour I got was nice as well. I know I’m as shallow as a paddling pool ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Rikker
    March 3, 2011 at 7:05 AM

    You, with the SW… stop shooting my poor Zealot! He doesn’t like arrows in his face! ;P.

    I hear ya, being in a similar situation myself… even WITH the bonus I’m still not close to DF, so…. we’ll see.

    • March 3, 2011 at 10:18 AM

      Aeo, the divide was never this big. The difference in stats between Anni and Conq and Invader and Warlord wasn’t leaps and bounds. The only real difference players had at this point was what renown rank they were and how many renown points they had to distribute. There is however a massive difference between Doomflayer and Sovereign, and a greater one between Warpforged and Sovereign. Simply put – DF gear has higher stats without talis than Sovereign could with talis. Whereas the other sets were gradual progressions, the leap from Sov to DF is huge.

      I base my statement on low morale off of people’s comments with whom I interact. When it takes 6 sub rr90 people over 5 minutes to kill a rr100 melee DoK (who kills 2 in the process), the reaction isn’t “wow this is great” but rather “that’s complete bullshit – it shouldn’t take that many people to kill one person”. The renown bonus will only work to help the casuals get that much closer to rr90, but at the same time consider that the hardcores will be propelled that much faster to rr100. Players in those sets deserve to be in their own tier, its that simple.

      Rikker, whose your zealot? I only don’t kill zealots I like ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Aeo
        March 3, 2011 at 11:01 AM

        You know what, I agree with you. I was hasty this morning, and angry. Wrong side of bed,etc. Thanks for taking time to explain without anger ๐Ÿ™‚ Damn RR100s.

      • Rikker
        March 4, 2011 at 7:05 AM

        Zealot’s name is Rikker ;P.

        I finally broke down and specced defensively though, so at least I can take a bit more damage… I don’t like the loss in healing output though. Oh well.

        Cya out there!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

