Home > Uncategorized > 1.4.2 Incoming

1.4.2 Incoming

Patch 1.4.2 is set to launch tomorrow, or April 19th whenever you are reading this… For all the discussions that have been started on the forums post-1.4.1 I really expected a bigger whammie in this patch. Let’s take a look at 1.4.2 and what’s missing.

Scenarios – First on the list are scenario changes. I’m all for scenario changes, the 1.4.1 line-up was way too melee-friendly with all the tiny maps. The new list however certainly has room for improvement. I think most people would agree that Thunder Valley was probably the scenario that launched the new system and scraped the sc-to-zone link…. and now we have it again. I can’t possibly see how this map could be improved in any fashion (regardless of rule-set) to be fun.

Renown Rank/Effective Levels – Getting toned down due to the out-of-whack job they did post 1.4.0. A good change.

Career Changes – Um… now players cant use channeled abilities when their target leaves their range (good) and they cant detaunt enemies while silenced. Last time I checked my Shadow Warrior doesn’t draw his bow with his tongue. Why on earth should a silence stop a SW or an Engi from firing their weapon?! Channeled fixes are good, but the changes to detaunts are b.s.

Tome of Knowledge – A slew of typo-fixes. Great I guess, for those who were offended by the typos…

Doomflayer/Warpforged – These sets have been drastically toned down, almost to the degree where they have swung too far int he opposite direction. This story is actually pretty humorous for me – before 1.4.0 everyone said the new sets were OP as hell, once people got the sets they no longer thought they were OP, now the set is getting nerfed perhaps too much and all the people who have the sets are screaming bloody murder (the same people who pre-1.4.0 said the sets were stupid OP). Hypocrisy at its finest! I am happy Mythic took the right step with these sets and ignored the cries of the people who rode the OP-boat for a few months and now have to relearn how to play.

New pets – Um….? Um….??? If only Mythic would devote development towards stuff people wanted. You know… forts, other cities, new scs, new races. But for crying out loud! Pets?!

Now for the things not mentioned in the patch notes that were on the forums. We had this discussion about attacking keep doors – this was not mentioned in the patch notes… is it going live? We had a HUGE discussion about physical mitigation – um whats up with this change? Siphon Vitality got addressed on the forums with the (right) change to make it an ‘on-hit toughness buff’ – not mentioned in patch notes BUT it is on the PTS so presumably it is going through.

I somehow feel odd about this patch. The changes to the power gap are definitely the right step, but it seems like the problem with physical mitigation which was mentioned and beaten into the ground on the forums has been brushed aside. Hopefully this patch will be the first step towards fixing the horrible debacle 1.4.0 was.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. zizlak
    April 19, 2011 at 12:03 AM

    Thunder Valley could be fun if there were more people in it..Maybe three groups..that would be quiet a fight. The only problem of this is sc imho that it’s too spread out..everything else is ok.

    Now the DF/WF stuff..I’m not sure how good you can compare them to sov (5 set pieces vs. 8) .. I don’t think that they are getting nerfed to the ground and afaik SV is getting changed to a fortitude buff, so that toughness buffs still help. I think that the Def-Set will not be worn a lot now. Melees will be going back to off and melt you in less than a gcd. I’m quiet sure that Mythic will somehow sneak in the physical mitigation stuff too, despite it being not on the pts notes. Mythic is always good for a surprise πŸ˜‰

  2. April 19, 2011 at 5:20 AM

    I have only one thing to say- CRY YOU GOOD FOR NOTHING NOLIFING ELITIST EASYMODE FARMERS, CRY! CRY YOUR BLOODY EYES OUT! That’s just a guideline, of course >:D

  3. Dilek
    April 19, 2011 at 7:06 AM

    @Arch, lmao. Do you think they will cry bloody panda tears?

    I’ll be interested to see how the changes actually play. My experience is that theory-crafting tends to get some of the story right, but there are always some surprises in the actual live play on a populated server. In part it is as Zizlak states: mythic *is* always good for a surprise. However, I think there is that strange alchemy that goes one with massive numbers, server latency, lag, player skill and knowledge, geometry, etc that simply can’t be predicted. In general, though, I am very happy they addressed the power gap. (I will *not* think about Thunder Valley.)

  4. thurtes
    April 19, 2011 at 7:10 AM

    I am so lost I don’t understand all these acronyms. I enjoy the game but I really don’t think I get what’s going on or if I am playing right. I feel like I am missing out on 90% of the game.

    • April 19, 2011 at 9:59 AM

      Are you new to the game? Sometimes being in a knowledgeable guild can help you out in terms of learning all the in-game intricacies. Feel free to ask here, I’m sure some of us can help you out =)

      • thurtes
        April 19, 2011 at 12:42 PM

        Yes I am new to the game and MMO in general.

  5. April 19, 2011 at 12:20 PM

    Hm, I don’t understand why you’d get your knickers in a twist over the detaunt change. Because it doesn’t make sense? Start making an ordered list of everything that doesn’t make sense in MMOs (or just WAR) and not being able to cast detaunts while silenced will be near the bottom. πŸ™‚

    It’s also a non-issue from the balance point of view. If you’re a dps getting silenced to prevent someone from detaunting you, you’re basically getting a free immunity. Yay for stupid players!

    Regarding the confusing mix of patch notes compared to the forum discussion, remember that the game version that’s on the PTS isn’t necessarily the version getting implemented. There’s a dev post somewhere (possibly gone because it was quite a bit ago) saying that you shouldn’t consider every change you see on the PTS to be an actual change that is going on the live servers. In short, the PTS is a clusterfuck of versions. I remember from when I was playing around on the PTS that it sometimes had bugs that were fixed on live half a year ago.

    • April 19, 2011 at 5:06 PM

      I don’t really care because silencing a dps class is a stupid move, but it seems like a sad way to reward stupid play. Yay you throw silences around like its nobody’s business, now they have some effect.

  6. April 19, 2011 at 1:01 PM

    Regarding detaunts- Mythic obviously want to bring a bit of realism to the game. Let’s face it, nobody can spew distracting and therefore DPS-decreasing lines such as “I.AM.YOUR FATHER!” and “I love you.” or “NOT IN THE FACE! NOT IN THE FACE!” with a silence ailment on πŸ˜‰

  7. Dilek
    April 19, 2011 at 6:04 PM

    thurtes :
    I am so lost I don’t understand all these acronyms….. I feel like I am missing out on 90% of the game.

    This is a great place to ask questions. What acronyms don’t you understand? I’m sure one of us will be happy to give you the information. Also, Ekas is correct: find a knowledgeable guild with active players and your game play will improve markedly. All it takes is the willingness to ask questions and listen to constructive advice.

    @Arch, my detaunt is silent. I just shove cookies at my attackers and hope they’ll leave me alone. πŸ˜‰

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

